What’s in a name?

Ok, so I had a post all written out and somewhere along the way all of it except for the title disappeared, so I shall try again.
Somehow I started on a journey about names. My name, Tammy in Hebrew means perfect one or palm tree and fruitful, depending on who you ask. Tammy is the short form of Tamara.  My friend tells me in Spanish it is Tomasa. Naturally, I was interested in the Biblical meaning of my name. Once in a Christian Book Store there was a plaque or something that said the meaning was “seeker of  truth”. You know what? I think I like “seeker of Truth” better.
It is only in God’s eyes through Christ Jesus that I am seen as perfect, in human life I’m a far cry from perfect. (ask my friends) or maybe not. Ok, Christains are not perfect, just forgiven.
It’s kind of interesting that I am kind of tall though, much like a palm tree. I hope God thinks I’m fruitful especially when it comes to seeking His Truth.
BTW, did you know that Jesus Christ is the way, the TRUTH and the Life? I certainly do know the truth even if I’m not perfect.
Dear Jesus, I thank You that you have allowed imperfect people who seek Your Truth to find You. Amen
What’s in your name?
About tammy4christ

Middle aged Grandmother, working in Retail, living for Christ.
This entry was posted in Just stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s in a name?

  1. I didn’t think my name had any biblical root until I was doing some word studies one day on Acts 17:11. It says, “These were noble [minded] than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness of mind, and searched the scriptures daily, whether those things were so.”

    The Greek word for “noble” is spelled out in English like this: “Eugenes” (pronounced yoog-en’-ace). I thought that was neat. That’s as close as it gets for me.

    • tammy4christ says:

      That is interesting. Thank you for commenting. I went through a period once of getting a good grip on the true meanings of words I read in the Bible since our English words don’t always give us a good picture of its true meaning.

Leave a Reply

