God is Spirit….and then it hit me!

As a Christian, I’m not sure why this detail has not occurred to me before. No man has seen God. He cannot be seen in His essence because He is Spirit. A Spirit does not have a body as we think of material bodies.

Man is a spirit and has a body which houses his spirit. The spirit of man is what makes us who we are. Since the body we have is the housing for our spirit, at the death of the body which returns to the dust from which it was made, our spirit lives on. (Without the spirit, the body is dead.)

As a Christian I know that I have life, I have everlasting, forever eternal life. Is that life in my body? No, it is in my spirit so the spirit will never die as a body does. A spirit can be spiritually dead if it has not been saved by Christ. That will be the question..whether one’s spirit is spiritually dead or alive.

Ok, so the thing is I know that I’ll go to heaven to be with Him when I die and since my spirit is always alive, how do I go to heaven when I die? Well, my body dies and goes to the dust but my spirit without a body goes to be with God.The spirit returns to God who gave it. So, I’m thinking until the resurrection, what exactly does it feel like to be only a spirit without hands, feet, a face, a nose etc. That concept just seems so foreign to me. I know that my spirit is the real me though and God as a spirit is a real God. He knows, feels, sees, and makes decisions. He does everything I can do and more, even without a body. Still it seems a kind of scary thought to try to imagine what heaven will be like without a body to get around in per se.

We do know that in the Old Testament God made Himself seen by man but yet it could not have been in such a way that men saw God as the Spirit for no man has seen God at any time and yet Abraham, Jacob, Moses claimed to have seen God, Well, spirits by themselves are invisible so naturally you could say that man did see God as God chose to show Himself or a part of Himself to men but God truly being a Spirit could not be seen. This is my flimsy understanding of this here. After all I can’t even see my spirit or even yours!

The end result of this situation does have a completeness to it. I’m not sure if Christ had a body before He came to earth to redeem mankind, but I know He has one now. Scripture tells us this in regards to Jesus the Son of God:

Hebrews 10:5-7 Therefore, when He comes into the world, He says, Sacrifice and offering You have not desired, but a BODY You have PREPARED for me; In whole burnt offerings and sacrifices for sin You have taken no pleasure. Then I said, “Behold, I have come in the scroll of the book it is written of Me. To do Your will O God”.

John also tells us:

And the Word became flesh, and dwelt among us, and we saw His glory, glory as of the only begotten from the Father, full of grace and truth.

And again, after His death, burial and resurrection from the grave, His apostles witnessed this, in Acts 1:9 after speaking to them, He was lifted up while they were looking on, and a cloud received Him out of their sight.

He arose out of sight, in a physical body, was seen doing so while the men looked on and an angel told them Jesus would come back in the same manner.

Jesus Christ is fully man and fully God.

As a born again Christian, my hope is in the event of the rapture of the church. There will be a new body, at the rapture.

In 2 Corinthians, Paul tells us that while we are at home in the body we are absent from the Lord and that we prefer rather to be absent from the body and to be at home with the Lord. He tells us that while we are in this tent, dwelling of the body, we groan in it, not wanting to be unclothed of the body but that we want to be clothed with immortality. (my brief paraphrase of understanding).

1 Corinthians tells us that one day not all will die physically but that the Lord will come and those alive will be changed. The earthly as in the body is perishable but the heavenly as in body is imperishable. Flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God. On that day, the dead in Christ will rise, imperishable and those alive will be changed and that just as we have borne the image of the earthy, we will also bear the image of the heavenly.

1 Corinthians also describes how God gives a body just as He wished. Just as there are earthly bodies, there will be also heavenly bodies.

Regardless, I’m not sure what it will be like to be me and yet be without a body as we know it for a time, if my body should die before the Lord comes but I know that one day those of us who are saved will be like like Him for we shall see Him as He is.

About tammy4christ

Middle aged Grandmother, working in Retail, living for Christ.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Jesus Christ and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

